Go Buku 2013

1

March 12, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

Buku Music and Arts Festival was, without a doubt, the best most memorable, exciting, alive weekend I have ever had. The best venue (New freaking Orleans!), a kick ass line up, and my favorite type of people: Molly hippie ravers. (Required Molly reference to freak out my mom should she read this😉 )

The line up (try not to salivate)

The line up (try not to salivate)

My favorites are hard to list because I didn’t see everyone I would have liked to and because everyone was pretty ballin’.Datsik, Flosstraudamus, Nero and Calvin Harris were all 15000% perfect to the core of perfection. Major Lazer makes a sick drop, STS9 induces heart attacks from such excitement, Kid Cudi is beyond any known adjective, and Big Gigantic is a raver’s best friend. Kendrick Lamar, you were wonderful but I must say that I prefer your album better than live. No hard feelings, you’re still a favorite❤.

This is one of those word-minimal posts. My favorite amendment is the 5th.

IMG_6528[1]

Soph and Will, layin on the ground, big chillin'

Soph and Will, layin on the ground, big chillin’

Ryan, Will, and me. Kool kids get on the ground during music festivals

Ryan, Will, and me. Kool kids get on the ground during music festivals

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

Kid Cudi

IMG_6553[1]

Red eyed goddesses (No editing because lazy)

Red eyed goddesses (No editing because lazy)

This is my only picture from Datsik (on account of I was going HAM during Datsik), but everyone loved the people with glow gloves and ribbons ;) ;)

This is my only picture from Datsik (on account of I was going HAM during Datsik), but everyone loved the people with glow gloves and ribbons😉😉 Fascinating stuff, mayne

Day Two:

Just to show that I actually did have a cute outfit at some point in the day

Just to show that I actually did have a cute outfit at some point in the day


IMG_6569[1]

Major Lazer

Major Lazer

Flosstraumaus (one of my favorites)

Flosstraumaus (one of my favorites)

Calvin Harris

Calvin Harris

NERO

NERO

Nero again, the best hour of my life, ever. :)

Nero again, the best hour of my life, ever.🙂

IMG_6596[1]

haha, "pics from last night"

haha, “pics from last night”

IMG_6597[1]IMG_6602[1]

:)

🙂

Great friends, fantastic music, unforgettable experience: the best weekend of my life. Hopefully I’ll figure out how to put up videos soon because I have some AWERRSOME videos, especially from Nero. Ahh, Nero❤. A raver has been born and this will not be the last music festival for me. I have my heart set on Coachella (California), Bonnaroo (Tennessee), and Wakarusa (Arizona, in the WOODS) and hopefully I’ll be attending them all at some point during my college career. My life list also now includes a Bassnectar show because he is my favorite dubstep artist of all time.🙂

In terms of workingout/eating. Friday I went on a 7 mile run before we left, and Friday and Saturday night I was going insane so I probably burned about 11zillion calories. I also didn’t eat anything at Buku because at a place like this, money should not be spent on food. That is just a crime. It’s also really easy to over-exert yourself at these types of festivals and not realize it. I know Saturday night (Floss, Calvin Harris, Kendrick and Nero all in 5 hours), I was partying faster than my body could handle. I’m exhausted  like I’ve never been before (well, since tailgating season😉 ), so I’m taking it easy these couple days back. Today I did a 30 minutes abs class, 30 minutes on the elliptical and 15 on the dreadmill. A nice and slow break for a body that’s been forced to party through the sleepless, waterless, foodless, high energy marathon that is Buku.

If you’re considering going to a music festival, “rave,” or ball-till-you-fall type of concert, do it. You only have one life to live so you might as well burn out really quickly during one weekend but have the best, most lasting memories.🙂

One thought on “Go Buku 2013

  1. […] when I went to Buku and nearly died of two days of straight bliss? I’m hoping, praying, begging, dreaming that I […]

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

