We Meat Again

Leave a comment

March 5, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

Whats up? I had pork with dinner.

IMG_6438[1]I know, I’m surprised too. For one, I expected my first meat to be chicken, and I also expected my first meat to be April 15. (the day after my vegaversery).

So far, no stomach issues, super powers, abnormal growths or extra arms to speak of.

I came home from school with the full intent of running, but I was so tired that I decided to lie down for a bit first. My power-nap turned into an indulgent-nap and I found myself bed locked. I really did want to run, I haven’t ran since Saturday! My body was just feeling pooped out and exhausted (for no apparent reason, 8 hours of sleep and nothing out of the ordinary in my day). It’s really frustrating to be tired for no reason so I decided to jump the gun on my back-to-meat plan and had a wee nibble of pork at dinner.

It’s weird not to consider myself vegetarian. I’ve loved it and it made me feel extra healthy, extra hipster, extra economic, extra social issue-y. To have that feeling gone and to feel “normal” again is weird, but I know that I’m still 150% health freak (even if meat eating), so I’m still an odd ball out in some situations. I also really hope that meat is the reason why I’m so dragged out lately (possibly anemic?) and if eating meat at dinner cures that problem, I’m all ears.

I don’t know the terms of my omnivore-ness yet. It may be complete omnivore, or I may choose to only eat organic meat, no red meat, or meat only a couple times a week. We’ll see how the adjustment goes and what I think best suits my values/body.

I won’t eat shitty meat like chicken nuggets and whatever goes into a happy meal. I also won’t be eating nearly as much weird, mystery non-meat. Vegetarian faux-meat is more of a mystery than McDonald’s, I swear. So, while I’m beginning to eat meat, I still have the food standards of a picky vegetarian.🙂

By picky standards, I mean I’ll still be the annoying girl begging to buy a bag of grapes when everyone else wants Taco Bell for those wondrous late night cravings with friends.

——–To Redeem Myself—–

I’m going to pull a those-crazy-runners classic and wake up buck-ass early tomorrow morning to run. My reasoning that if I run early enough in the morning, it will be close enough to today that it will count for today’s workout, then I’ll do my usual Tuesday thang after school like usual. Flawless logic, yes?

I’m thinking my morning will go like so (which means it obviously won’t)

  • 5:30-5:45 wake up, coffee, brush teeth, get shit together
  • 5:45-6:30 stretch, run, stretch
  • 6:30-7 shower, uniform, breakfast, make lunch, go to school

It’s been about 18 years since I’ve ran in the morning before school (actually I think I’ve done it twice before), so this should be a shit show an experiment. I think it’ll be a really nice way to start my day, though. 

I’m hitting the sack since I’ll have an early morning, check ya later!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

