“Happy people just don’t kill their husbands”

Leave a comment

March 4, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

“Exercise produces endorphins, endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t kill their husbands. They just don’t.” (Elle Woods, Legally Blonde, (Gemini vegetarian))

Other than giving you a perfectly valid alibi in a murder case, endorphins also make exercise heavenly and get you high for free from the action of your own body. I’ve always loved the “runner’s high” that sometimes creeps up after a really fatiguing workout, but after yesterday’s meditation run I was curious as to why exercise is so darn therapeutic.

I’ve always considered running to be relaxing because it’s time alone with your thoughts to sort everything out an escape daily life, but I found some new information. I never considered that exercise relieves the energy that our bodies store during times of stress. The byproducts of adrenalin are designed to be used on the spot to escape a pouncing hyena, but when these stress-hormones are released during Monday morning (or in any stressful times today that don’t involve fight/flight), the unused hormones get stored in our muscles. This is why after long periods of stress you feel achy and worn down; your muscles are stocked up with stress hormone. Endurance sports (running :)) are also stress relieving because you take deeper breaths for a long period of time that help to flush the stress hormones from your system.

Everybody also knows that exercise produces endorphins (as previously stated by Elle Woods), but I didn’t know that endorphins act on opiate receptors in your brain. Your brain reacts to endorphins similar to opiates like morphine and heroin. Weird to think about, huh? You could look at passionate running as, biologically at least, an addiction to self-produced opiates.

Hormone joke coming right up:

“How do you make a hormone?” “Don’t pay her”

Good one, right?

(Excuse the lack of linkage because 1. lazy and 2. I read roughly 11zillion sites before this post.)

In other news, I ate oysters tonight and they were so darn fantastic that I thought I’d share.

IMG_6428[1]

Louisiana has the best food. Don’t even try to argue that one or I will disable comments.
PS- If this blog isn’t ridiculous enough for you, follow me on Instagram: Hanlaville!

Do you get a “high” from exercise? 

Do you like oysters? How about crawfish? :) (the answer is yes even if it is no)

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

March 2013
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

