Psychology of Lazy

Leave a comment

February 26, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

Okay so if you’re a) human and b) normal or c) honest, then you know lazy. Hopefully you aren’t lazy often, but you’re a straight up liar if you’re telling me that you’ve never hit snooze, stayed home, or let a deadline slip just because you “didn’t feel like it.” I’m feeling lazy (by definition not actually lazy) today since I’m taking today off as a rest day (after yesterday’s half marathon), so I decided to look into what lazy actually is because if you know the why, sometimes you can change the how. (Also because I actually am being lazy by writing this post since I have trig homework that I should be doing.)

All further information is based on this article and then related to running/workingout/fitness/getting off your butt/the overly-dramatic-yet-actually-overly-easy life of a teenage girl because I like all of those things and that is what constitutes the majority of my life, cappesh?

Basically the author started out by saying that “lazy” is an umbrella term that really means lack of motivation or not seeing it necessary to do what you should do.

lazyThen the article went on to explain the main motives behind “laziness.” Or, the way I look at it, the reasons why I like sleeping in and why my math grade is dwindling like Lohan’s sense of smell.

1. Lacking a sense of Ability Explanation: “Why should I study if I’m going to fail anyway? Why should I workout if I’m already a lost cause?” If we don’t think we can do it, then we don’t put forth the effort to try. I think this is more of a long-term sort of laziness that you settle into, but it’s still sucky. Not that I don’t fall victim to this “I can’t do it anyway” sort of stinkin’ thinkin’, but to this I say that you won’t know if you don’t try and you won’t try if you don’t believe, so believe in yourself.

2. Lacking emotional support or self-discipline  Explanation: “I don’t feel like it” Not having people supporting you, not seeing it as beneficial for you, not wanting it bad enough to work for it. This is one of the hardest to deal with because it’s 100% up to you. It’s not a self-esteem thing, it’s not a question of ability, it’s not fear; it’s just you putting your mind to something and saying “I’m going to finish this, it will suck and I might be miserable for a little but it will get done.” However, I find that once I’m in the habit of being disciplined it becomes easier to keep it up. For example, waking up at 6:20 every school day is alot easier now than it was in August because I’m used to sucking it up.

3. Not thinking that your effort is worthwhile Explanation: “Why should I study trig if I’ll never use it in my career? Why should I make time to workout if it could take time from the things I already do?” I think this heavily deals with your priorities and values. If something isn’t important or useful for you, you won’t want to do it. I value my health so it’s easy for me to set aside time for working out. I know I won’t ever use trig so it’s a struggle to even open my homework, catch my drift? This attitude comes forth for the things that we should (should as in required to do or wanted to do) as opposed to the things that we want to do. My only advice is to either reevaluate what you want and what you’re willing to do for it, or just get on your tractor and plow through it. (or pay people to do your homework (Natalie))

4. Fear of failure Explanation: “Eh, if I can’t finish a 5k then I’ll be a pathetic flub in front of everyone so I probably shouldn’t take up running” This one goes without saying because we’ve all been there and we’re all afraid to admit it. I didn’t want to talk much about my goal time for my race because I didn’t want to overshoot it by a long shot. We all know what this is like, and we all also know that there’s no easy way around it. The only way to deal with being afraid of failure is growing a pair and persevering until you succeed. Or, to combine the two and make me chuckle: Ball till you fall. 

5. Lack of interest Example: “I seriously couldn’t care less about projectile motion so I’m not studying for this physics exam” or “Eh, those runners are crazy mofos” (Crazy sexy, that we are ;)) This one I especially realized in France when I suddenly found myself passionate about French and learning as much as I could. Fast forward to French IV and a bad case of senioritis and I’m clawing my way out of the class everyday. I’m so passionate about running because I find it fascinating; the biology, training, and emotional devotion it takes to excel at the sport must be balanced (how k00l is that?). If you don’t care then nothing will make you care, so all I can say is to hone in on the things that you really do care about. The world doesn’t need people doing things because they have to, the world needs passionate, lively people doing things because they love to.

What makes you lazy? How do you conquer your laziness?

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

