P-O-W-D-E-R

Leave a comment

February 12, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

Today we skied Wolf Creek, but more importantly, last night God dumped one giant pile of powder over the entire mountain. I HAVE NEVER HAD SUCH GOOD SKIING!! Twenty six inches of beautiful, untouched, unpacked, glistening white powder just asking to be carved up. Heavenly like I don’t even know what. Amazing.

It also snowed all day (to ensure optimal powder-age tomorrow too, thank you, GOD) (i really don't know how people ski in hats?)

It also snowed all day (to ensure optimal powder-age tomorrow too, thank you, GOD) (i really don’t know how people ski in hats?)

IMG_5829[1]

Tumbler, my favorite run. People called it a "powder bunny" and I have no idea what that means but it means something really fun. I called them powder moguls.

Tumbler, my favorite run. People called it a “powder bunny” and I have no idea what that means but it must mean something really fun. I called them powder moguls.

Skiing today and even driving around amid the snow capped woods all renew the excitement I have for CU. I’ve remembered that skiing is (as my brother would say) the kitty’s titties. That little spray of snow in your face when you cut through a huge patch of powder. Mhm, das the life. I could do this everyday. There’s something about Colorado that just captivates me. Louisiana has it’s fair share of wilderness, but there is a special beauty in these mountains. The sky here seems endless and the nature copious. I love it. (I sound like such a rookie. I have to also admit that driving/living with this snow will get old soon).

The slopes closed at 4 and we were back to the condo by 5 with just a wee bit of day light left, so I got really pumped up for what would be my first Colorado run. Ha. Have a  laugh at my life: .70miles, 6:15 minutes, and I was gone for about 25 minutes total. Why?

1. Ice is a BITCH

2. I got lost (in Pagosa Springs which is literally one street and one red light. I’m a star)

3. I had one bar of service and NOBODY answered their phones so I was left to wonder the icy streets until I happened to somehow find our condo by luck.

Why did I think I could run outside here?

Why did I think I could run outside here?

And I was worried about the altitude messing up my run. Nope, just my own ditzyness.   There’s a small gym in Pagosa (by the grace of God) so tomorrow morning I’m going to see if I can buy a one day pass or just beg them for an hour and a treadmill. Stay tuned.

Now we’re eating gumbo, watching TV and staying warm with the family and cousins. I love the after-ski evenings like this. Ahhh, gimme a cup of cider and lets call it a night.

fda

Goodnight Colorado, I love you. Powder for tomorrow? Please? 

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

