Top Ten for my First Ten

1

February 3, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

10 fingers, 10 toes, 10 commandments, 10 miles in my run this week!

Here are the Top Ten things about my First Ten!

10. My hair cooperated and was in the tightest ass-kicking braid that I’ve ever made. The less I am aware of my hair’s existence during a run the happier I am.IMG_5475[1]

9. 57 degrees and weather that makes my soul smileIMG_4279[1]8. Watermelon Gu chomps. I actually prefer the gel, but these little suckers tasted just like candy so I can’t exactly complain. If they came in quick release I could deal. They just took a while to kick in I think.

IMG_5472[1]

7. The ingenuity I had to wrap my chomps in saran wrap like a drug dealer 

IMG_5473[1]

6. Music and lots of it- Santigold Pandora for the first bit of the run

Desperate Youth actually came on once which made me a happy camper :)

Desperate Youth actually came on once which made me a happy camper🙂

5. Flux Pavilion Pandora for the second half of the run, especially “I Can’t Stop”

fp

4. My secret on-the-run tennis bathroom that I found (and more importantly the water fountain there of which I don’t have a picture)

PS- this picture was from a different run

PS- this picture was from a different run PSS-what’s going on with my face?

3. My fire shoes (Saucony Guide 6) did their job and there was no ankle/shin/any pain at all!

IMG_4054

2. Motivation (competition?) from my Pops- he ran 11.5 miles before I even woke up!

IMG_3794

PS- this picture is ew

1. That feeling of accomplishing a new PDR and looking at your watch and thinking “I just did that.” (Also to be noted, learning the phrase PDR) (Personal distance record)

Knowing I burned nearly 1200 calories in 1.5 hours while all my friends are restricting themselves to 1200 calories a day- haha

Knowing I burned nearly 1200 calories in 1.5 hours while all my friends are restricting themselves to 1200 calories a day- haha

This run was so exciting! I’m really proud of myself and it showed just how much my “training” has paid off. Remember when my long runs were 5 miles? Remember when I ran like this? The half marathon is in three weeks and after this run there is no doubt that I’m ready. If I can run 10 miles after a night out then I can run 13 after a night of preparation. I am pumped. 

After the run I came home, ice bathed, showered, and ate. After farting around for a little while I went to the first parade downtown with Sophia and Will. It was fun but I’m in the mood for a New Orleans parade. Bacchus, anyone? (Why oh why must we go to Colorado during Mardi Gras this year. The only time I’d rather stay in Louisiana.)

Soph and Han

Soph and Han

Han and Will. Ignore my eyes please. Oh wait, you can't see them anyway

Han and Will. Ignore my eyes please. Oh wait, you can’t see them anyway

What’s your PDR? (Now that I know that term I plan to use it in common speech)

-Ten miles, thank you very much.

Have you ever been to a Mardi Gras parade? Baton Rouge? New Orleans?🙂

-Both and New Orleans (obviously) knows how to do it like no other. Good God I love New Orleans.

Gu chomps/shotblocks or gels? 

I prefer gels

One thought on “Top Ten for my First Ten

  1. […] bummed to begin with. I was surprised that I was running much slower than I had anticipated at the height of my training, but after my “baby-injury” with my achilles, I was okay with taking it easy. I kept […]

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

