Distance PR!

6

January 13, 2013 by seriesofassortedevents

Guess what, y’all! Yesterday morning was a distance PR for me!! 8.02 miles :) 

I finally went on another Saturday morning run with my Pops like we did for the tailgate runs. We also went with his friend, Steve who is considering running the RNR half with us. We got to the lakes around 8:30 and apparently I was the only one that planned on going 8. Everyone else was thinking 6-7. Slackers these days. Anyway, going out we began at a 9:45 minute/mile and I was thinking of polite ways to tell them to either speed up or watch me speed up, but once we got in the first couple of miles it wasn’t so grievous for me to take it easy!

There were pink flamingos in one of the lakes today. I don't know why but I don't question pink happiness.

There were pink flamingos in one of the lakes today. I don’t know why but I don’t question pink happiness. Baton Rouge is weird. 

Steve ended up separating from us at the 3 mile split because of a knee issue. That man always finds something to have an issue with mid-run. At the 5 mile water fountain break I told my dad “only three left!” and he said we didn’t have enough time to do 8 because Mr. Steve-has-issues needed to be home by 10, so I said that’s just too bad because I’m doing 8 and I’ll wait for somebody to come pick me up after if needed. He actually said that they would leave me and pick me up later so I could finish my run alone… There’s no “I” in “team,” people.

I finished up my run without my dad, but with the best end-of-run Pandora station: Hollywood Undead. Yes, judge me and judge me hard because it’s Hollywood Undead for Pete’s sake. Anger is the most motivating emotion and Hollywood Undead is the best band when you decide you want something to fight, so Natives it was. After going 8.02 miles I stopped and walked the rest (200m) until the parking lot, at which point I found my dad and Mr. Steve in the car waiting to go. Don’t wait for me, you said you’d leave me so I took my time!

When I got home it was the typical recovery: stretch, ice bath, head-sized water bottle, ya know

The floating face wash made me laugh and kept me company.  My buddy <3

The floating face wash made me laugh and kept me company. My buddy❤

Thank you to Amelia for making this marvelous water bottle for The Banana that's the size of my head.

Thank you to Amelia for making this marvelous water bottle for The Banana that’s the size of my head.

Yes, I took this during the ice bath. Why would I remember to do it at a normal time?

Yes, I took this during the ice bath. Why would I remember to do it at a normal time?

and always, the traditional tomato faced Saturday morning with Dad pic

and always, the traditional tomato faced Saturday morning with Dad pic

An excellent run and the farthest I’ve ever gone. WHOO! Dontcha just love that feeling?

Later in the day I met with Sophia and our Little Sis’s (at my school, a group of Seniors adopt a group of Freshmen to be our “Little Sis’s” to pal around and negatively influence them). We went to the mall and window shopped a bit then randomly started talking about piercings then randomly decided that I should get my cartilage pierced. I’m so sporadic that I should have had an age limit that kept me from turning 18 and having control of myself. Anyway, 45 minutes after this conversation and decision there I was:

They should give out paper hyperventilating bags with every piercing. I could have used about three.

They should give out paper hyperventilating bags with every piercing. I could have used about three.

Voila! Can't believe I have two piercings on one ear now..

Voila! Can’t believe I have two piercings on one ear now..

It hardly hurt and I’m pleased with how it turned out. In 8-12 weeks I can change the earring! It’s actually a pretty Hannah thing and is really growing on me. My mom hasn’t seen it yet, however. I texted her this picture and said “oh, btw” to which she never responded. This morning she didn’t mention it. I’m either going to be murdered soon or she just doesn’t care that much.

What is your PR for distance?

How many piercings do you have and where? (If any) 

Do you like cartilage piercings? -My only concern is that it may appear as trashy-

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Distance PR!

  1. College Tri says:

    My PR for distance is 26.2!🙂 This summer I’m looking to push that out and see if I can do a couple 50k’s for fun. As a guy I don’t have any piercings. And I don’t think cartilage piercings look trashy if it’s just a small stud or something. Just nothing too over the top!

    • Whoo, marathoner on our hands! 50k sounds insane but that could be fun, plus bragging rights!

      • College Tri says:

        Marathoner, but I suppose I didn’t technically run all of it!😛 Hoping to run an entire marathon this March though! 50k on trails sounds fun to me. On roads… well, I think I’d shoot myself.

      • Hey aid stations are meant for walking! Trail running sounds really exciting and impossible to get boring. Have you seen Hungry Runner Girl’s blog? She’s been doing trail running in Utah and is about to do a trail half!

      • College Tri says:

        I do read her blog! It’s great! And the marathon that I did was actually a trail marathon too. Medoc Mountain Trail Marathon. It’s not an actual mountain though. I love trail running, I find it much more interesting than road running.

      • Oh cool! I’ve never actually tried trail running but I’m really curious about it. Louisiana has squat in terms of running trails unless you want to swim:/

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

