Three a Day

Leave a comment

December 27, 2012 by seriesofassortedevents

I was at the LSU lakes/in the general area three time yesterday. (for a run, for a walk, and for a hangout) I should just set up a tent, really.

My first order of business was a long run to try some of running presents from Christmas:

Fancy pants socks

Fancy pants socks

New hoodie WITH THUMB HOLES (because Louisiana decided to be 40 degrees, thankfully)

New hoodie WITH THUMB HOLES (because Louisiana decided to be 40 degrees, thankfully)

and this thang

and this thang

Maybe it was because it was my first long run in what feels like eons, but that was the best run ever. It kept me entertained because I mixed up the route a little (this ended up accidentally getting me lost right in front of the frat of the guy I met at a party Friday; things like this just seem to coincidentally happen ;)) Miraculously, it was 40 degrees today, unlike the 75 degrees it was Christmas Eve (wtf, Louisiana) so I wore my hoodie. I usually get hot on runs, so I wore it without a shirt anything; just sports bra and hoodie which turned out perfectly! The iPhone arm band thing worked well for it’s purpose. My only issue was that it was confusing to start/stop RunKeeper and impossible to change the song. It didn’t slide around or mess up my phone, so I’ll use it in the future for sure. I’ll just have to get used to looking like an idiot when I’m starting/pausing/stopping my running app! (Garmin watch in my future?!)

You stay classy, Baton Rouge

You stay classy, Baton Rouge

My average pace was 8:50-55 the entire run, so I think I accidentally thought I had paused it when I stopped but actually didn't pause it because the arm band thing f'ed me up. Oh well, still faster than normal!

My average pace was 8:50-55 the entire run, so I think I accidentally didn’t pause it on time because the arm band messed me up. Oh well, still faster than normal!

My overall opinion of the nick knacks and run: thumbs up (in my thumb holes!)

My overall opinion of the nick knacks and run: thumbs up (in my thumb holes!)

I came home to stretch because I accidentally set off my car alarm in the parking lot and took like 5 minutes to turn it off. After that scene I valued my pride too much to get out again and stretch at the lakes. Once home, I stretched like I usually do then tried this thing:

The stick. "A toothbrush for muscles"

The stick. “A toothbrush for muscles”

I’ve done foam rolling and seen other people use this stick contraption, but I have to say that I honestly have no idea what the hell it is. I rolled my calves, quads and hamstrings until I felt a knot, then I rolled until the knot felt better. No idea if I did this correctly, but I guess we’ll see. This was technically my dad’s Christmas gift, when he opened it he said “What’s this? Something you use with your partner in the bed room?!” That’s about how much I know about it, too.

After my wonderful run, I showered up and took our dog, Frank, on a walk because it was his sixth birthday! We listened to “Birthday Sex” on the way to and from the walk to get in the mood. We did the 3.5 mile lap of the lake at around 5PM which was the perfect time of the day for a walk!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MR. FRANK!!

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, MR. FRANK!!

Looking very Louisiana with the crepe myrtle in the back

Looking very Louisiana with the crepe myrtle in the back

After the walk, my best friend Amelia came over and we exchanged Christmas gifts. They were both very well thought out, sweet, and funny. I love Miss Melier with my entire heart to the moon and back. After this we were planning on going to our friend Nick’s house like we do so often, but he said we couldn’t come over yet so instead we went to the skate park and called Greg (frat from the party) to come meet us. Surprisingly he did and it was nice to see him outside of the party setting/jungle juice state of mind. After a couple hours of hanging out with Greg, we went to Nick’s and had just as much fun as we always do there.

Amelia wore the mad-sexy mumu I gave her for Christmas

Amelia wore the mad-sexy mumu I gave her for Christmas

On da counter even. Wild child

On da counter even. Wild child

I don't see any logical reason why we shouldn't have tazed the tree

I don’t see any logical reason why we shouldn’t have tazed the tree. yolo.

Despite my determination to be home by 1, there was a lost phone that got us home by 1:45 which brought us back to the "FLOOR IT" chant on the way home. Sophia, you da best

Despite my determination to be home by 1, there was a lost phone that got us home by 1:45 which brought us back to the “FLOOR IT” chant on the way home. Sophia, you da best

Amelia and I facetimed Tyler, raided the pantry, and played "Hindu." It's a drunken tradition that we always sing "Berkalicious" and "play Hindu," so even though we weren't drunk we did it anyway. True friendship

Amelia and I facetimed Tyler, raided the pantry, and played “Hindu” until 3AM. It’s a drunken tradition that we always sing “Berkalicious” and “play Hindu,” so even though we weren’t drunk we did it anyway. True friendship is weird.

Today we slept in till noon, got some Starbucks and popcicles, then went to Whole Foods to have "lunch" with about 45 of their free samples. We also wore this hangover-fabulous footware even though we were completely sober

Today we slept in till noon, got some Starbucks and popsicles, and went to Whole Foods to have “lunch” with about 45 of their free samples. We also wore this hangover-fabulous footware even though we were completely sober

I adore running and I love my friends. It was a fantastic day/night/early morning/morning after!

What fun/weird/crazy memories do you have with your friends?

What are your favorite running tools?

How do I use “the stick”?!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

