Welcome back, speed work

3

December 6, 2012 by seriesofassortedevents

Last night’s treadmill run was a good one! I used this workout that I found on this blog. Let me tell ya, intervals are butt kickers! Here’s the original workout, but I made some adjustments because I was a little sore from Body Pump.

  • 3 minute warm up: 4.5 mph
  • 3 minute tempo: 6.5 mph
  • Set 1: sprint 1 minute (7.5 mph), jog 1 minute (6mph), sprint 1 (7.5 mph)
  • 3 minute tempo (6.7 mph)
  • 3 minute RECOVERY! 4.5 mph
  • 5 minute tempo: 6.7 mph (this is when you realize you aren’t on a long run and it won’t be easy)
  • Set 2: sprint 1 (7.5 mph), jog 1 (6 mph), sprint 1 (7.5mph), jog 1 (6 mph), sprint 1 (7.5)
  • 5 minute tempo: 7mph
  • 3 minute recovery: 4.5 mph (I added an extra minute to the recovery because I added extra weight in BP last night)
  • 3 minute tempo: 7 mph
  • Set 3: sprint 1 (7.5 mph), jog 1 (6 mph), sprint 1 (7.5 mph)
  • 3 minute tempo (I basically completely nixed this last tempo since it only lasted 1:30 minutes…

It was a challenge and I’m sad to report that my ankle pain was rearing its ugly head, even in my new shoes. Considering last night I went up on my back, squat, and lunge weight in Body Pump I started out sore but regardless of this it was still a ballin’ workout. This one’s going in the repertoire! It was nice to get in a little speed work for the first time in eons. We did 400s, 600s, and 800s in cross country when I was a freshmen and I liked them nearly as much as the long runs. Welcome back, my interval buddies. Maybe soon I’ll do some long tempo runs or what we called “threshold runs” in cross country (holding a moderately hard pace for about 20 or 25 minutes, moderate rest, then another threshold pace). MAYBE, just MAYBE, I’ll really go back to my cross country days and do the f-word: fartlek. We’ll see! Speed work is fun, but nothing can ever beat a long run.

Now is the time in the post when I’ll embarrass myself. I couldn’t think of any pictures to put for this run since it was on a treadmill so I just took selfies that describe the run. Yes, I’m a freak.

When I did the first set I was like "daymn this workout aint messing around"

When I did the first set I was like “daymn this workout aint messing around”

Then on the second temo the workout was like "well yeah gurl, didya think I'd be easy?"

Then on the second temo the workout was like “well yeah gurl, I don’t play no games”

Then I told my sore little quads "Sorry, suckas. We have a job to do"

Then I told my sore little quads “Sorry, suckas. We have a job to do”

Then my quads responded by saying "BUT WHY DO YOU HATE US?" So then I shortened the last tempo

Then my quads responded by saying “BUT WHY DO YOU HATE US?” So then I shortened the last tempo

PS- How can you forget your bra? This wasn't the shower bathroom, so somebody would have to walkout going comando in order to forget their bra in here...

PS- How can you forget your bra? This wasn’t the shower bathroom, so somebody would have to walkout going comando in order to forget their bra in here…

When I came home I dilly dallied on the internet for a while, took a shower, then ate dinner.

Two fried eggs, toast with guac, a corn bread muffin, and some tomaters

Two fried eggs, toast with guac, a corn bread muffin, and some tomaters

For dessert I had two four of the dark chocolates from my unsecret Santa. I see where things are going regarding this dark chocolate and I like it.

IMG_4142

I’m just getting out of my 1021 final! I got an 84B which is enough to keep my A in the course. I’m getting a college credit and done with one mid-term! I probably could have gotten a better grade had I done the practice test more than three times, but I really don’t mind my grade. Off to the rest of the school day now and an easy run tonight. I’m not too keen on easy runs but after last night I know it’s what I need. Ugh.

3 thoughts on “Welcome back, speed work

  1. […] terrible to feel unsafe at school, but I won’t look an off day in the mouth! I decided to do this speed workout again and see if I’ve improved. It was still an extreme kick in the derriere, […]

  2. Nice workout I love sprints but they are such a killer I will probably start them up in the summer!! I love your dinner the colors are amazing it’s nutritious and huge!!!

Leave a Reply

Time Machine Blog Edition

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Hannah who?

seriesofassortedevents

seriesofassortedevents

Hey, I'm Hannah! I'm 18 and a senior at an all girl's high school in Baton Rouge. I plan on joining the Navy and fulfilling my dreams to live in different places- hopefully leading me to the University of Colorado in Boulder to become a nurse. I love working out, running, and having a generally healthy lifestyle with the added dash of "wait I'm still a teenager so this is a good idea." I'm a vegetarian and eat a mostly plant based hippy foods. My life is as hectic and hormone rich as any other teenage girl, although I'd like to say that I add a couple miles and some extra spunk to the mix while skimping on the drama. Welcome to the show, and thank you for reading my blog!

View Full Profile →

